Defying the “Wintry Comeback”


This is a bithday card. It's the Balenciaga FW 2010 shoe. Wish I owned these BAD BOYS

So, these are CD’s that I designed for Lotus Eater’s CD release this coming Thursday night. Everyone should go!!! They are a very talented trio. They play at the Triple Rock Cafe on Feb. 3rd, 8PM. CD’s are a mere five dollars.

Here’s something fun… I was asked to do a little excerpt for the newly published FAB magazine on the U of M campus, through the Fashion and Business student group. I’ll be pictured in some outfits I’ve posted on this blog, and this is the written part that will be published:

Name: Leslie Olson
Major: Fashion Journalism, Art, French (Interdisciplinary)
Who or what inspires your style? My style inspiration isn’t an emulation of a person or designer so much as it is a response to seasons–this past spring and fall, my style was very “girly,” with a lot of appliques and floral prints. Now that I have to bundle up for winter, I’ve taken on more of a bohemian, cabin-fever aesthetic; think lots of layering, fur, texture, gold chunky jewelry. On dressy occasions, I look to Blair Waldorf of Gossip Girl (classic feminine) or Alexa Chung (melange of masculine-feminine pieces and print-mixing) for inspiration.
Where do you like to shop? Anthropologie is, has been, and always will be my financial nemesis. I also love The Clothes Mentor (consignment)–I have a Free People blazer that I purchased there for $20, and a real fur gilet for $25 (it formerly retailed for $900–people in Eden Prairie are very generous…). Turnstyle, Savers, Urban Outfitters, Forever 21, Nordstrom and Von Maur have also yielded amazing deals.
What are your favorite fashion trends right now? Least favorites? For Fall, my favorite trends were the 50’s/60’s silhouettes shown at Prada and Louis Vuitton–I bought myself a calf-length mermaid skirt immediately, it makes me feel like one of the sexy girls on Mad Men! Very sophisticated. For Spring, I am in love with the comeback of the 70’s Yves Saint Laurent-inspired looks–I never thought I’d buy a pair of flares, but they are the most flattering things in the world when paired with a pair of YSL-esque platform pumps. I really don’t know of any 70’s tailoring that wouldn’t flatter the body! I also like the irony of classic accessories in neon hues, like designer Celine’s classic Box Bag in acid-green crocodile.
My least favorite trends are jeggings, kitten heels (unless they are from the Prada 2010 FW collection), and with the 50’s/60’s/70’s ascension of trends on the runway between 2010 and 2011, I’m hoping that the 80’s are NOT next in line.

Hope you’re enjoying this slightly warmer weather… the news station reported a “Wintry Comeback” for tonight, though. WHATEVER. That is NOT TRUE.

<333 Leslie

About Leslie

I'm just a girl, little old me I live in Minneapolis. I go to school at the U of M. That makes me sound like everyone else :) However... I am full of conversation, to the point that I HAD to start a blog to keep all my thoughts about fashion straight, and more importantly, to connect with all of YOU and my fellow bloggers! I can't wait to share pictures and stories. PS. WARNING: my camera sucks. One day, hopefully SOON, I will be obtaining a lovelier instrument.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

